The Science Visualization Lab is located in the Biomedical Communications unit, Department of Biology at the University of Toronto Mississauga. Our research focuses on the creation, testing, and dissemination of new visualization strategies for improving life sciences education. These strategies include linear narratives, interactive study tools, and digital games.

Members

Jodie Jenkinson

Principal Investigator

Associate Professor, Biomedical Communications,
Dept. of Biology, University of Toronto Mississauga

Ariadna Pomada Villalbi

MScBMC Student

Associate Professor, Biomedical Communications,
Dept. of Biology, University of Toronto Mississauga

Farah Hamade

Co-Investigator

Research Coordinator VISABLI
https://farahamade.com

Amy Zhang

Amy Zhang

MScBMC Student

https://www.amykzhang.com
keer.zhang@mail.utoronto.ca

Colleen Paris

MScBMC Student

https://www.colleenparis.com
colleen.paris@mail.utoronto.ca

Alumni

Jenny Chin

MscBMC Student

jenny.chin@mail.utoronto.ca

Nitai Steinberg

MScBMC Student

https://nitaisteinberg.myportfolio.com/
nitai.steinberg@mail.utoronto.ca

Felix Donghwi Son

MScBMC Student

https://www.felixvis.com/
donghwi.son@mail.utoronto.ca

Ahmed Hanif

Undergraduate Biology

Matan Berson

Matan Berson

Head of User Experience, BenchSci

http://www.matanberson.com
matan.berson@mail.utoronto.ca

Kara Lukasiewicz

Kara Lukasiewicz

Video Illustrator, Osmosis

kara.lukasiewicz@mail.utoronto.ca

Savanna Jackson

Biomedical Communications Designer, Bridgeable

savanna.jackson@mail.utoronto.ca

Profile Picture: Erina He

Erina He

Medical Illustrator, National Institutes of Health

http://www.erinahe.com
erina.he@mail.utoronto.ca

Profile picture: Melissa Phachanhla

Melissa Phachanhla

Service Designer, Bridgeable

http://mphachanhla.com
melissa.phachanhla@mail.utoronto.ca

Profile picture: Naveen Devasagayam

Naveen Devasagayam

Animator, Invivo

http://naveendevasagayam.com
naveen.devasagayam@mail.utoronto.ca

profile picture: Vijay Shahani

Vijay Shahani

Head of Design, Cyclica

http://www.vivisci.org
vijay.shahani@utoronto.ca

Annie Tseng

Biomedical Communicator, Coactuate

http://annietseng.co/
annie.tseng@mail.utoronto.ca

Profile Picture: Andrew Tubelli

Andrew Tubelli

Visual Designer, Broad Institute

http://andrewtubelli.com
andrew.tubelli@mail.utoronto.ca

Collaborators

Profile Picture: Gaël McGill

Gaël McGill

Co-PI VISABLI

Director of Molecular Visualization,
Dept. of Biological Chemistry & Molecular Pharmacology,
Harvard Medical School, and
CEO Digizyme™

Profile picture: Ric Lowe

Ric Lowe

Collaborator

Professor, School of Education,
Curtin University, Perth
Western Australia

Profile picture of Stuart Jantzen

Stuart Jantzen

Collaborator

Biocinematics

Profile picture of Andrea Gauthier

Andrea Gauthier

Post-doctoral Research Fellow, Knowledge Lab, University College London

http://andreagauthier.com
andrea.gauthier@ucl.ac.uk